L.A. Louie's Jibber-Jabber

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chicken Praprikash

Intro

This is a tasty dish I just learned of two days ago from this Peter Vamos video(wonderful music and cooking).

I found many recipes for Chicken Paprikash online at SparkRecipes; but I decided on the one the uses the slow cooker as I enjoy that kind of cooking.

Collecting the Ingredients

These are the items I set out to get, according the slow-cooker recipe from SparkRecipes:

  • large red bell pepper
  • large onion
  • 1pkg garlic
  • 3 loose carrots
  • 1-1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 lbs chicken
  • Hungarian paprika

I walk instead of drive, and try to spend only 5 to 10 dollars per day on food.

Food 4 Less

I walked up to Food 4 Less for every ting. After seeing what was available, I postponed purchase of a couple of
items, and added a couple:

Chicken
The only chicken breast left (Zacky Farms) was too expensive at over 7 dollars for less than the 2lbs I needed. They’d run out of the less expensive brand that was $1.79 a lb.
Hungarian Paprika:
There was no paprika there that I didn’t’ already have. I decided to hold out for the possibility of finding the right kind at another store
sour cream
I actually kept forgetting this item
Pasta
I decided on bow-ties as it was flat and easy to prepare
Beer
I’d need something to hold me as this takes 8hrs to cook. I’ll have beer and peanuts

Fresh & Easy

Usually but not always more expensive, but somewhat fancier, Fresh & Easy was my second stop. I picked up two items:

Chicken
I decided on a whole chicken. Even thought I did see chicken breasts at $1.79/lb the packages all weighed too much, were around $11.00 ea. I got a whole chicken for $5.17
Paprika
I didn’t find Anthony labeled Hungarian, but I did find something libeled sweet. I remember from the video that
that sweet was good.
sour cream
I forgot it again;but I walked back to get a 1pt container

Miami’s’ Market

My last stop was at Mami’s (or Cherry Market) for some peanuts. I picked up another beer, just in case.

In all, I spent about 21 dollars; but with a whole chicken and two beers, this would last at least two days.

Preparation

Preliminary

I got home, hungry, and threw most everything into the refrigerator, except the beer and peanuts. I started heating water for pasta.

I can’t quite recall what I did next while having my beer and peanuts, but I usually watch some sort of video online.

I vaguely remember playing music instead of videos; because as I was practicing trumpet at the time the water was ready for the pasta, I found the loud music from the other room a little distracting while I took the time to practice the trumpet as the pasta cooked.

Cooking

I took the cooked pasta and put it in a container, then into the refrigerator.
I chopped the chicken, sliced the onion and bell pepper, and shredded a carrot.
The chichen, I placed in a large plastic bowl and floured it.

As I was placing everything into the crock pot,  I found I had way too much.
I removed half the onion, chicken, and pepper and placed that too into a container and into the refrigerator.
I added pepper and salt, cooked on high for one hour,  then set the pot to low,and cooked six more hours.

Trying it out

Early this morning around 5am, I tasted the food–almost forgot the sour cream again! It was good.  I added the sour cream. I grabbed the pasta, put it in a bowl and added some of the chicken paprikash over it.

It was wonderful. When I sliced a piece of chicken with the edge of a spoon, there was a burst of aroma from the meat. The sour cream and paprika also added a special, distinctive, flavor. I think this dish will become a regular treat for me.

2012/02/17 - Posted by | Good Eatin', Long Beach, Money, Music, Photography

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve made this about 4 times now. My favorite variation is using a whole chicken instead of just breasts. Also, a whole chicken is so much that I prepare the dish twice. I like to throw in a giant jalapeño.

    Comment by Louis Frayser | 2012/03/27 | Reply


Leave a Reply

